Rapid-fire portraits, an apology, and a poll!

3 Dec

It’s like a grab bag of fun! Or of things that can pass for content. Your pick!

Anyway, sorry about missing Wednesday’s update. Things were a little hectic here while I was getting ready for my presentation. I didn’t sleep very much, but the bright side is that I’m pretty happy with how my poster turned out (as mentioned in my previous post), and I think that my presentation also went well. I don’t have a lot of occasion to dress up in a suit jacket and look fancy, so I went all out for this. (Please note: “all out” for me = business jacket, button-up shirt, nice jeans, heels, and makeup. Nothing too intense.) I also did little visiting artist sketches of everyone during their talks. It was difficult, since presentations were only six to eight minutes long, but I feel like I did pretty well. I think that doing visiting artist sketches every week has been really beneficial–if I hadn’t been doing them for a semester, I don’t think I’d be able to get a good likeness at all (especially not in under ten minutes). So, without further ado, three members of the CCS class of 2011:

Nomi KaneNomi Kane‘s thesis project is a book called Sugarbaby, a series of vignettes about her family tied together by discussions of her childhood diagnosis with diabetes.

Josh KramerJosh Kramer is doing several journalistic comics about apples and ski jumping, for starters, and is starting his own comics-reporting journal called The Cartoon Picayune.

Carl AntonowiczCanto is continuing his western, The Tentacle Kid, and a comic about capitalism called The Yoke and Crown.

I have a lot more of these, but I don’t want to post too many pictures at once here. I’ve got about eight more from this week (and will have the rest of them tomorrow), and I could use some reader feedback on how to post them. I could either continue with my normal update schedule and post two or three drawings every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday…OR I could change things up and post one drawing a day, every day, until I run out (at which point I would resume my normal MWF schedule again). What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance for your help, guys! :)

Leave a comment