I survived another year!

10 Oct

And that means that I’m totally 25 now! I can’t wait to start reaping the benefits–namely, renting cars and…uhh…I dunno, telling people about times before the internet, I guess!

Anyway, I know it’s a Writing Wednesday, but I’ve got birthday celebrations to attend to. (Singin’ in the Rain isn’t going to watch itself, you know!) So, today I’m outsourcing the bulk of the writing to you guys. Please leave a comment letting me know what you’d like to see me draw for next Monday’s update! I’ve gotten a lot of sweet birthday wishes today, so I want to pay some of that forward and do something nice for you guys, my loyal readers. ;)

In the meantime, here’s a small doodle to hold you guys over until Friday. I only recently switched to Timeline over on Facebook, and I wanted to come up with something fun to do with the “cover photo” function. Here’s what I ended up with:

I tried to fit as much Captain Haddock into this as possible.

Fans of Hergé will recognize the background from the endpapers of certain editions of the Tintin comics and the profile picture from my attempt at drawing myself in Hergé’s style. It was pretty challenging, especially because of the difficulty of finding reference pictures of young women in his work. I looked at a lot of crowd scenes to figure out how to translate my features into a character who would fit into Tintin’s world. Never in my life have I regretted not looking like Bianca Castafiore so much.

All right, that’s it for me tonight! I’ll see you guys on Friday with some fanart. :)

One Response to “I survived another year!”

  1. lchapmandesigns October 11, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    hmm… dancing kitties in Brooklyn? with bow ties and canes and top hats? :D

Leave a Reply

