From California to the New York islands!

20 Aug

Phew! The past couple weeks have been a little crazy. There’s been a lot of packing, mailing, frantic box-buying, saying farewell, and driving to do. But it’s all been worth it, because for the past week and a half, I’ve been waking up in the city that never sleeps.

That’s right…Paul and I moved to Brooklyn!

Things are still kind of hectic, of course. (When are they not?) We’ve both got a lot of unpacking and job-hunting to do, but overall it just feels great to finally have completed the move we’ve been talking about all summer. It’s also fun to start really settling into our place–I’m notoriously bad at unpacking my stuff, and somehow I never quite get around to hanging all of the posters and prints I’ve accumulated for decoration. The fact that we won’t necessarily be moving out soon and the fact that there are two of us doing the unpacking/decorating has helped a lot, though. Here’s a little comic I drew about that:

Our new home.This is the first all-digital comic I’ve done in a loooong time! I do a fair amount of digital coloring, but I usually at least start with a physical pencil sketch or something. I’ve been reading a lot of Cucumber Quest lately, though, and that inspired me to give it a shot. It took me way longer than I expected it to, but I like the results and want to keep practicing. I want to try drawing a lot of new things, so if you guys want to see anything in particular, please let me know in the comments!

4 Responses to “From California to the New York islands!”

  1. CJ Joughin August 20, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    Aww, but glad to see you all are starting to get settled!

  2. Lynn August 25, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    LOVE the comic. meena’s room looks like figure 1. hoping she gets to figure 4 soon (swap boyfriend for roommate of course!). great seeing you!

    • Lena Chandhok August 25, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

      Aww, thank you! I hope her move-in went smoothly (or as smoothly as moving in can ever go). It was great to see you guys, too! :)

Leave a Reply

