It’s not the heat…it’s the humidity. AND the heat.

22 Jul

Okay, when I mentioned the heat in my last update, clearly I did not understand what I was talking about. If I had, I would have known that it could get so much worse–which, over the course of these past few days, it totally has. Walking around WRJ has turned into an endurance test. How far can you walk without stopping to sit in the shade, have a cold drink, or go stand in the river? (I actually did the latter today with Jesse Mead, Sean Knickerbocker, Jon Fine, and some other lovely folks, and it was delightful.)

In keeping with the smoldering heat theme the weather’s had the past few days, here’s something I drew earlier this summer:

Suntan

I am the sort of person who always wears shorts to the beach, so I end up with some ridiculous tan lines. I’ve never had one quite this bad, but let’s just say that I didn’t have to extrapolate too far.

I’m really happy with how this one turned out! It’s one of my favorite things I’ve drawn this summer. I’m thinking about branching out into the wide, wonderful world of sticker production soon, so what do you guys think? Would you like to see this melanistically-challenged young lady on a sticker? Please let me know what you think in the comments, especially if there are other images you’d like me to put on stickers!

2 Responses to “It’s not the heat…it’s the humidity. AND the heat.”

  1. CJ Joughin July 22, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    I think you should do a bunch of seasonal stickers. Girls with bad tan-lines, girls wearing every inch of clothing they have to keep warm in the winter, girls in adorable fall and spring fashion… so yes, you should make stickers.

    • Lena Chandhok July 23, 2011 at 12:39 am #

      ….this is why we are friends. BECAUSE YOU HAVE THE BEST IDEAS

Leave a Reply

