I can’t beat this heat!

20 Jul

I just got back from a very brief (but very fun!) visit home, and man oh man did I forget how muggy Vermont is! My folks live near the water, so even when it’s hot the air is nice and dry when I come to visit. On the East Coast, though, it was so humid when I got off the plane that I practically had to swim to my car! But enough of that–here’s something I drew on the flight back:

Faaahhshion~I always default to drawing short, hourglass-shaped girls whenever I’m doodling, so this time I tried to branch out and draw someone a little different. (…Well, she’s taller, at least!) I’m also trying to learn to draw clothing better. A lot of my characters dress in T-shirts and jeans, probably because that’s all I wore up until a year or two ago, and I want to be able to draw clothing that fits them better. I like how this one turned out, though–maybe I’ll color it later.

Speaking of liking things (and isn’t that a smooth segue?), here’s something I overheard at lunch today:

Overheard at the Polka Dot

So far, that’s the best retaliation I’ve heard to a child not liking something. I look forward to having the opportunity to use that line myself!

Welp, I think that’s about it from me for tonight. I’m gonna get back to the important things, like doing laundry and draping my body over the box fan in the living room.

4 Responses to “I can’t beat this heat!”

  1. CJ Joughin July 20, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    I still love that Polka Dot picture. I think it’s just how matter of fact the dad says it.

    • Lena Chandhok July 20, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

      Thank you! The dad was so deadpan when he said it, like it was the only possible response to what his daughter had said. Whatta guy!

  2. 08jess July 20, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    ha i always tell my baby sister that her food does not like her either when she complains about what i have made her to eat lol

    • Lena Chandhok July 20, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

      Haha! You’re a quicker thinker than I am–I sassed my little sister all the time (and still do), but I don’t think I ever came up with quite as good a comeback about her food. :)

Leave a Reply

