That’s a wrap, folks!

15 Jul

Phew! Today was the last day of my first week-long comics camp at the VAULT Gallery. I had a really great group of kids who were all hardworking, funny, and great artists! They made some really fantastic illustrations and comics this week–I was totally blown away! I had a lot of fun teaching them, and I hope they had fun, too.  Here’s a picture of all of us:

VAULT Gallery Camp Week 1

From left to right, that’s Sasha, Josh, Gabriel, me, Jacob, and Rileigh. They’re all holding the diplomas I designed especially for the camp. Here’s a closer look:

VAULT Gallery Camp Diploma

Overall, I’m pretty proud of how it turned out! I’m pushing myself to get better at digital coloring (especially at establishing and working with a limited palette of colors). While I didn’t try anything too crazy with this, I still feel like it was a success.

If you’re in the Vermont area and the idea of comics camp sounds interesting to you (or someone you know), why not sign up for the next camp I’m teaching? It goes July 25-29 from 9:00 am to 11:30 am, and it’s for students 14 and older. The VAULT Gallery’s website has details on how to register here. We still have lots of room, and I’d love to have you as part of the class!

Okay…I had a pretty long day today and have to get up early tomorrow morning, so I think I’m gonna call it a night. See you on Monday, faithful readers! :)

2 Responses to “That’s a wrap, folks!”

  1. CJ Joughin July 15, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    Those kids are super adorable. Girl with stash wins a prize.

    • Lena Chandhok July 16, 2011 at 12:01 am #

      Jacob had a ‘stache at the beginning of class today, too, but he didn’t wear it in the photo. He and Rileigh got them out of a vending machine, but Rileigh got sideburns and had to jerry-rig herself a proper moustache. I was duly impressed!

Leave a Reply

