In which I abuse the caps-lock key for my own amusement.

11 Jul

Apparently I am a horrible liar, because man oh man did I not get back on a regular update schedule after the first DOS show! I’m sorry about that, guys. The last month has been crazy hectic, as I may have mentioned before, and things probably won’t calm down until the beginning of August. I’m teaching a camp at the VAULT Gallery in Springfield this week (and again in two weeks), visiting home for a whirlwind weekend, and getting ready to move again on top of all that! HOWEVER. I am going to keep posting on a regular basis during this time if it kills me. YOU HAVE MY WORD, THE INTERNET.

Anyhow, before I get back into regular post stuff, I wanted to say a big THANK YOU to everyone who was a part of Drawn Out Storytelling! Whether you performed with us, donated money, attended a show (or two, or three, or four!), or just told people about the show: thank you so, so much! You are amazing, and we really couldn’t have done it without your support! :)

In other news, here’s something I did for Ben Towle‘s Animal Alphabet blog:

O is for Okapi
I’d been telling myself that I was gonna paint something for the alphabet for the past two months and kept not being able to do it because of other commitments. When I saw that O was coming up, though, I knew I had to jump on it so that I could draw my favorite animal: the okapi! They look like a combination of a giraffe, a zebra, and…I dunno, maybe a tapir? Am I the only one who sees that? Either way, they are pretty fantastic. If you haven’t already, I highly recommend that you draw one (or see one in person!).

Okay, guys! I’m gonna go put together my lesson plan for tomorrow, but I will see you on Wednesday! FOR REALS THIS TIME. :)

6 Responses to “In which I abuse the caps-lock key for my own amusement.”

  1. CJ Joughin July 11, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    So cute~! Okapi are the platypus of the ungulate world.

    • Lena Chandhok July 11, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

      They truly are. (Also, “ungulate” is a FANTASTIC word.)

  2. Isaac July 11, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    I was really hoping someone would do an okapi for the Alphabet, and this one looks great. (I had a plastic okapi toy when I was a little kid, but I don’t remember where I got it.) I hope you keep contributing!

    • Lena Chandhok July 11, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

      Thank you so much! Okapis are pretty great, and it’s fun to meet another fan! :) I definitely want to keep contributing, and I hope you do, too. Your olm drawing is super cute!

      • Isaac July 11, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

        Thanks! I am definitely in the Animal Alphabet for the long haul. I have the last half planned out already (got my animals picked), and I have been talking about doing a “second lap” to make the project last a full year.

      • Lena Chandhok July 12, 2011 at 12:00 am #

        That sounds awesome! I look forward to seeing them! :)

Leave a Reply

