MoCCA Report!

12 Apr

Hello again, guys! Sorry for not updating much last week–I was caught up in a whirlwind of MoCCA prep, which involved a lot of frantic printing and assembling of books. It was totally worth it, though! I got to hang out with a bunch of my favorite people. For example, here’s a drawing of Nisse Greenberg, who let us crash on his couch:

Nisse Greenberg

Nisse is one of Paul’s good friends and a pretty great storyteller. We’ll be doing a show with him later this summer called Drawn Out Storytelling that involves live collaboration between cartoonists and storytellers. It’s gonna be awesome, and I’ll let you guys know more details as soon as they’re available!

I also met a lot of new people at the con, including Matt Madden, Yuko Ota, and Ananth Panagariya. I got to reconnect with KJ Martinet and Josh Weisbrod (two of my old CSSSA classmates), and I saw Scott C., Megan Baehr, and Maggie Siegal-Berele again! Seeing Maggie was totally unexpected, since she and I didn’t recognize each other at first but then realized that we had totally traded comics last year.

Meeting (or re-meeting) people is absolutely my favorite part about cons–aside from the bit where people give me money to do what I love. I get really excited about talking to people who come to my table, even if they don’t buy anything. We met some pretty great characters this year–my favorites were the little Russian kid with blue Lego glasses who were totally entranced by Paul‘s stickers and the middle-aged woman who told us that temporary tattoos used to be called “cockamamies” and about all the celebrities she’d run into on the street as a kid. I got to have some pretty fun conversations, too! A high school girl who was a member of her school’s comic club asked me if I had any comic-making advice, which was super flattering, and an Indian girl at the end of the day totally recognized that I had an Indian name, too. Her name was Sumana, which is a pretty rad name that reminded me a lot of my sister Mana. I wonder why? :P

I spent most of my time behind the table, but I did get a chance to run around and check out the other tables a little bit. These are all the minicomics I’d accumulated by the end of the show:

Lookit all these great comics!

Not pictured are my copy of the Johnny Wander book and my super-rad Russian Scrabble piece ring. :D I can’t wait to read everything! Maybe I’ll do some reviews of my favorites. Is that something you guys’d be interested in reading, or would that just be super boring?

Okay, I’m off to do some rapid-fire pencilling before I go to bed! I’ve gotta be in tip-top shape for Lynda Barry‘s workshop tomorrow! I am so crazy excited, you guys…I don’t know if I’ll be able to sleep!

…Aww, who am I kidding. Yeah, I will. MoCCA wore me out! :)

2 Responses to “MoCCA Report!”

  1. Andrea Aquino April 15, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    Ohhhhhhhhhh lord I love Lynda Barry!! <3 So jealous!

    • Lena Chandhok April 19, 2011 at 2:48 am #

      Not gonna lie, it was fantastic! She was a really interesting and funny instructor, plus she was super down-to-earth and interested in just chatting and hanging out with us. I wish she was a regular teacher here! :)

Leave a Reply

