I forgot that warm weather actually exists!

18 Mar

Just a quick update for you guys tonight! It’s been super warm this week (50 whole degrees!), and I have to admit that I’ve been distracted by the good weather. It’s been a pretty good week overall, since I’ve either taken care of or formulated plans of attack for a lot of the stuff that’s been stressing me out. I just have a lot of work to get down to, but I’m excited about a lot of it. This mermaid story in particular is really exciting (and a little scary) to start working on again. I’ve been doing a lot of sketches of Vivian in particular lately. Here’s one of them:

 

Vivian and her towel.

As a stand-alone drawing, I like this a lot. I’m especially proud of her hands and the folds in her sweatshirt. As a drawing of Vivian, though, it’s not great. Her hair’s a little too poofy, her eyebrows are thicker, and her mouth is too full. In this one she ended up looking too much like Pilar, a previous character of mine from Follow the Lady. The only differences are that Pilar isn’t Asian and has wavier hair and only one ponytail. I think I just need to keep working on Vivian so that I can draw her consistently. I should probably also start drawing her in different situations–I’ve been drawing her messing around with towels so much lately that Ford Prefect’d be proud of her.

I think that’s it for me tonight. I’m gonna try to write some more of the script and finalize some of the designs for the kids in this story, and maybe I’ll post those sketches on Monday. If you want to keep up with me and my awkwardess in the meantime, you can find me on Twitter here! I just started using it last week. I’m a bit unwieldy with it, but I have to admit it’s pretty fun. If you’ve got an account, please come say hi! :)

Leave a Reply

