What do stylin’ girls these days wear, anyway?

16 Mar

Gah! Sorry I missed Monday’s update, guys! Our design proposals for our thesis projects were due on Tuesday, and I was busy all day and up all night making a tiny model of a complicated packaging design and writing the proposal itself. The models and proposals go to a committee of alumni to decide which four students will receive the April Fog Memorial Scholarship (which consists of half the proceeds of the two pinball machines Alec and Jon keep in our media room–again, how cool is comics school?) to help them with the cost of their packaging, so I was really focused on making it great. It’ll be a close race for sure, though, since all of us submitted good designs!

Anyway, here’s a little painting I did this week:

Mana in SF

I wasn’t happy with how some of my watercolors were turning out lately, since the colors on the test page I painted for Eat Up, Cat turned out all muddy.  Aaron Renier–who veteran readers may recognize as my thesis advisor, or, I dunno, the guy behind the fantastic graphic novels Spiral Bound and The Unsinkable Walker Bean–suggested that I take a look at Hellen Jo’s paintings for inspiration on doing shading with purer colors. I’d read Hellen’s mini Jin and Jam last year and finally got my own copy of it this summer, but I’d never seen her paintings. And yeah, Aaron was totally right–they’re great! No one draws stylin’ girls not giving a fuck like she does.

This painting’s for my sister, Mana, on account of the fact that it ended up looking a lot like her. I added the Bay Area skyline since she’s up at UC Santa Cruz right now and loves going to SF for concerts and the like. She’s havin’ a tough week, full of those college delights like finals and d-d-d-drama, so I hope it helps her feel a little better. :)

2 Responses to “What do stylin’ girls these days wear, anyway?”

  1. lindahalcombfineart March 17, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    Love the design and the way the curved shapes repeat in her hair and body while the linear shapes dominate the skyline. Your painting is clean, clear and simple. Perfect for this.

    • Lena Chandhok March 18, 2011 at 4:12 am #

      Thank you so much! I’m pleased with how it came out, too. :)

Leave a Reply

