Another blast from my (artistic) past!

10 Mar

I had originally meant to post about last week’s visiting artist talk, but something really exciting happened today! Lori D., a Portland animator/zinester/skateboarder, came to give us an impromptu talk about her work! Here she is:

Lori D

Lori is a super-talented animator who draws really cute characters doing excellent things. Her work often features mustaches, missing front teeth, cool abstractions, and a lot of mischievous body language. She’s animated stuff for Yo Gabba Gabba, you guys, and that is awesome. She showed us some of her illustration work and some of her animations, which all share the same bright colors and lighthearted attitude. Her gouache paintings are really great, and I like her style a lot.

Part of the reason I was so excited to see Lori is that she used to be my teacher! She’s the Animation Department Chairperson for CSSSA (the California State Summer School for the Arts, which is located at CalArts). I was accepted into the program in the summer of 2004, right before my senior year. She was a fantastic teacher, and that program was quite literally life-changing for me. I’d never been part of such an artistically-driven community before (nevermind living without my family in one), and it was so energizing and inspiring and all-around amazing to me. I worked so hard and learned so much over the course of those four weeks–it was where I made my first figure drawings, my first cut-paper animations, and my first real thoughts about where I’d like to go with my art. I’m going to talk a little more about that on Friday, since I have a mildly self-indulgent How I Got to Where I Am bit in mind, but for now I’d just like to reiterate that I can’t recommend this program more. If you’re a California resident (and even if you’re not, since they admit a few out-of-staters every year) in 8-12th grade, please check them out! They have programs in animation, creative writing, dance, film & video, theater, and visual art, and they’re all fabulous.

Leave a Reply

