Showin’ some skin. (NSFW)

2 Mar

Today’s post is kind of a fitting follow-up to Monday’s. As you guys know, I’ve been working with ideas for this 1920’s project (tentatively named Perfectly Fitting) for some time. I’ve been struggling to figure out exactly who my main characters are, since I don’t know much about them yet except for their appearances, names (well, sort of), and occupations. I recently decided that Yulia (the current working name of the female protagonist), who used to be a prostitute at the high-end Everleigh Club, is now working in the burlesque industry. Here’s a two-page series of sketches that I did in an attempt to (a) try to draw her consistently in a bunch of different poses and (b) to figure out the kind of poses she’d need to get into during a strip scene.

A Poetic Strip, part 1

A Poetic Strip, part 2

I’m pretty pleased with how this turned out. I’m liking the balance between realistic anatomy and stylization that these pages have, and I liked thinking up the different poses. Plus, I think I’m slowly getting better at drawing high heels. I always have a ton of trouble drawing decent-looking shoes, so this is a big deal to me. (And yes, I know that she probably would have her shoes off after taking off the stockings, but I wanted to get some more practice drawing them.)

Lest the “apologies to Dorothy Parker” at the bottom of page 2 not make it clear, that’s a Dorothy Parker poem Yulia is reciting as she works. I guess she’s either a pretty slow talker or a pretty fast stripper. (Also, those are pasties–the kind without tassels–and not very large nipples on the last page.)

I’ll be back on Friday with a poll for you guys, so be sure to come back then! :)

4 Responses to “Showin’ some skin. (NSFW)”

  1. Andrea Aquino March 3, 2011 at 3:01 am #

    The shoes look great! :) And I love how well you draw the curvy ladies. I can never seem to draw anyone who doesn’t have the standard Sailor Moon body type. (Thanks a lot, Naoko Takeuchi.) I’m a fan of the 20’s stuff and I’m excited to see more!

    • Lena Chandhok March 5, 2011 at 4:48 am #

      Thank you! I definitely had that same problem of only being able to draw one body type until recently. I’ve really had to push myself to try to not draw just the same hourglass-ish shape over and over again for my girls, and I had to work hard on Yulia in particular to try to capture the right combination of sexy and curvy with a little extra meat on her bones. Hopefully I’ll start making tangible progress on the 20’s stuff soon. I promise this blog’ll be the first to know!

  2. Mike O'Malley March 7, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    Agh! That’s my favorite Dorothy Parker poem! And it’s happening during a Burlesque routine! Yes! Masterstroke, madame. I love the contempt in her face on “shivering and sighing.”. Also, good move on the cheeky little labia-ruffles on the dress. I love it when clothes realize that there’s more than one way to be suggestive.

    • Lena Chandhok March 7, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

      Thanks, man! Yeah, it’s an awesome poem. The dress design is actually taken from the LIFE magazine online archives–there’s an image of a stripper from the 30’s or 40’s wearing one that’s very similar, but the way I draw ruffles does tend to look a little labia-tastic. Glad you liked it! :)

Leave a Reply

