A little bit, a little late.

26 Feb

Yikes! Sorry this update is late, guys! I have a big crit coming up on Tuesday, so I spent last night sending all my files off so that people’d have time to read them. I’ll have a lot of good stuff to post during this upcoming week as a result–I have some prep work for Perfectly Fitting that turned out well, plus I’ll have the poster I’m designing for the next Dr. Sketchy’s event.

But first, here’s this week’s visiting artist sketch!

Joe Sacco

This week, Joe Sacco gave a talk to us as well as some of the Dartmouth students about comics and journalism. As the author of PalestineFootnotes in Gaza, and several other journalistic graphic novels, it’s pretty clear that he knows what he’s talking about. I’m a bit embarrassed to admit that I haven’t read any of his work, but I like his style and enjoyed what he had to say. Since the Dartmouth lecture was aimed at a more general audience, he had to spend more time than usual explaining the basic nature of comics and how or why they might be used for journalism. It was still a good talk–I particularly liked hearing him discuss his process and how he defines journalistic integrity (telling the “intrinsic truth” rather than the “literal truth” in some cases)–but I wish I’d been able to make it to his CCS-only talk earlier that day. I’m definitely adding Footnotes in Gaza to my reading list for next week.

Leave a Reply

