First hula hoops, now hobos and hipsters!

23 Feb

What h-word will I draw inspiration from next? Comment if you have any suggestions. :P

On the (only slightly) more serious side, last week White River Junction hosted its very own Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School session! For those of you that haven’t heard of it, Dr. Sketchy’s is this lovely Venn diagram of figure drawing, burlesque, and elaborate themed costumes. I was super excited to go for the first time, and it was pretty awesome. Here are a few sketches:

20-minute Dangeresque sketch

Dangeresque may have had the best stage name of everyone there. I guess that could also have been her real name; maybe her parents just knew that she’d be a superhero/villain, international spy, or eccentric burlesque model. I’m proud of how her hand and the perspective on her legs turned out, but I wish I’d done better with the bindle and suitcase.

10-minute Adora sketchWe had really great models at this session. They had funky costumes (as you can see) and gave us a nice mix of five-, ten-, and twenty-minute poses. Adora–pictured above–was my favorite, I think, but I think that may just have been because she had the same knee-high sneakers that I do.

…Man, that was just about the most hipster-y thing I could have qualified that statement with. Oof.

But speaking of hipsters, that hipster Little Mermaid meme that’s been going around lately made me think of this:

Hipster Nausicaa

This is something I drew a while ago when we were reading Miyazaki’s Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind and were simultaneously making a lot of hipster jokes. Is it funny to anyone else but me? THE WORLD MAY NEVER KNOW.

3 Responses to “First hula hoops, now hobos and hipsters!”

  1. Andrea Aquino March 3, 2011 at 3:11 am #

    I’m big fan of Hipster Nausicaa! Now I’m thinking of Kiki in hipster glasses with a biofuel broom… :P

    • Lena Chandhok March 5, 2011 at 4:49 am #

      Haha, thanks! Maybe I oughta do a Hipster Hayao Miyazaki series of sketches.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Clowns in corsets! « Comic Sutra Sketchblog - February 28, 2011

    […] you guys might remember my post last week about Dr. Sketchy’s in WRJ. I love figure drawing (have I mentioned that before, maybe?) and […]

Leave a Reply

