And now for something completely different.

8 Dec

Okay, I’m changing it up a little! I know I promised you guys more visiting artist sketches, but I have some new drawings I’m really excited to share. Colleen Frakes set up an awesome opportunity for us with Northern Stage, the local theater company; a bunch of us cartoonists got to attend the final dress rehearsal for their production of The Wizard of Oz and do some life drawing during the show! It was difficult, but oh man was it a lot of fun.

Dorothy, Glinda, and Professor Marvel.

A super-simplified Dorothy and Glinda, plus the beginnings of Professor Marvel and his magnificent moustache. Everyone in the show was fantastic, but I particularly enjoyed Jane Brockman’s Glinda–she played her with an amazing Midwestern accent!

A crow and a tree.

Sarah Cubbage’s costume design for this show totally blew me away. These were some of the extras: the crows from the Scarecrow’s introductory scene wore these great suits with sequined vests, shoulder pads, and hats (I used silver Sharpie in an attempt to capture it, but I’m not sure it scanned well), and the trees from the Tin Man’s first scene were all dolled up in these Lady Gaga-esque veiled tree hats and stiff-looking dresses.

Poppies, a doorman, and a flying monkey.

More costume design sketches: a poppy, the Emerald City doorman, and a flying monkey. The colors on the monkey are a little bit too vivid–the actual costume has more mottled colors and looks more like fur.

A Jitterbug, an Emerald Citizen, and Toto.

A Jitterbug,  a random Emerald Citizen, and a super-fast sketch of Toto. I’m not sure if you can tell from this sketch, but the eyes on the Jitterbug hat have little lights inside that glowed as the wearer danced. SO COOL ♥

So yeah: basically, I am just totally enamored with this show to an extent that I totally wasn’t expecting. I can’t wait to see it on the stage! Northern Stage and Colleen totally hooked us up, and I am super grateful. If you’re in the WRJ/Lebanon/Hanover area, you should definitely come see it! You can find a list of performance dates and times here.

One Response to “And now for something completely different.”

  1. CJ Joughin December 8, 2010 at 10:37 pm #

    I’m impressed that you were able to get such great detail and such fantastic color in a very quick time. These are fantastic!

Leave a Reply

