Did someone say, “more flappers”?

17 Nov

Because I definitely heard “more flappers.”

Suits don't lie; the people who wear them do.

I am pretty happy with the way this one came out. I used a reference picture for the pose, but I had to use my imagination for the color, the plaid pattern (which is why that’s super simple), and everything from the upper thigh down. Overall, I’m very pleased. I definitely need to do some tests on bristol to see how well this will reproduce when I paint on something that isn’t just copy paper, because I think I would really like the finished product to look like this. I’m also fond of the tagline–I’m maybe thinking about setting the story in a clothing shop, and I like the possibility of that being my super dorky tagline.

It’s gonna be kind of a short post again today; Paul and I just got back from meeting up with my dad in New York, and we had to get up early both yesterday and today in order to be on time. It was great to see him–we don’t usually see each other on this coast or at this time of year, and it was fun to visit New York again even though it was for such a short time. As an added bonus, we got to spend a few hours with Nisse Greenberg–Paul’s friend who does storytelling shows and requests drawings from us sometimes. We also got to go to Strand, where I picked up Jen Wang‘s new book, Koko Be Good. It is amazing and pretty much made me feel like this:

Koko Be Good

Everything about this book was great: the story, the writing, the beautiful palette…all I can really say is, “more, please!”

“Awesome publications” has pretty much been the theme of these past 24 hours. Gina Gagliano from First Second came into our Professional Practices class today to talk about marketing, and she brought in a pile of books for us to look at. This pile included Vera Brosgol‘s upcoming book, Anya’s Ghost. I didn’t have a chance to read it fully, as Gina was giving a really interesting talk and I wanted to listen, but I read as much as I could and concluded that I am going to run out and buy it the minute it is available. It is also beautiful in both the categories of art and drawing, plus I love a good ghost story. Basically, reading both those books in the span of a few hours made me feel like this:

Koko Be Good AND Anya's Ghost!

I AM A PHOTOSHOP WIZARD, YOU GUYS

Anyway, that’s basically all I’ve got for today. Sorry that so many of these past posts have been me fangirling. I hope it doesn’t seem like I’m bragging about the people I get to meet or how cool I apparently think I am–it’s just that Scott C. and Jen Wang and Vera Brosgol have been huge influences on me (hell, Jen and Vera and the rest of the Pants Press Sketchblog crew were what got me started drawing comics that weren’t just fanfiction), and the idea of being able to meet them or just tell them “thank you” is really exciting to me. I’ll try to make sure that I don’t go overboard in the future, but if these ravings get too obnoxious, please feel free to let me know. :)

5 Responses to “Did someone say, “more flappers”?”

  1. lindahalcombfineart November 18, 2010 at 7:25 am #

    Your gratitude is deserved and charming. It is so great to hear an artist praise and thank other artists. And I really like your flapper with spunk…very cool!

    • Lena Chandhok November 19, 2010 at 12:33 am #

      Thank you! Like I said, these artists have had a huge influence on me and my style, so I feel like I owe them some props. :) Plus, I always like to know what kind of work my favorite artists like to read/watch/look at/etc., so it’s fun to be able to give recommendations for a change.

  2. rob November 18, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    What? No mention of the fortuitious visit to http://www.myplasticheart.com/ ?

    • Lena Chandhok November 19, 2010 at 12:33 am #

      Don’t worry, I didn’t forget to mention it! I’m saving that for Friday, when I’ll post the corresponding picture. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fanart Friday: Anya’s Ghost! « Comic Sutra Sketchblog - October 27, 2012

    […] first graphic novel, and it is basically one of my favorite comics ever. (You may remember it from the post 2 years ago where I Photoshopped it into my hands.) It’s the story of Anya Borzakovskaya, a disaffected […]

Leave a Reply

