One of these days, I will learn to get some sleep on Sunday nights.

15 Nov

SPOILER ALERT: today is not that day.

But hey, on the plus side, I’ve got some new art to post!

enjoy yourself

This is a little watercolor sketch I did during class today. The anatomy’s a little off (she’s got too much leg and too little torso), but overall I really like how this turned out. I’m especially proud of the slight blush on her cheeks, nose, and joints. Seriously, this watercolor stuff is a breath of fresh air. Everything I’m working on is feeling kind of stagnant, so it’s fun to work in a medium that feels spontaneous and is also pretty malleable. I feel like I’m on to something with this kind of character design, too–it’s somewhere halfway in between the simpler style I was using last year (and in earlier ’20s sketches) and the more realistic style I’ve been playing with this year. I also like the idea of not inking over the watercolors, but I don’t know how that’ll end up reproducing so I’ll have to do some experimentation. Does that mean I have to draw more flappers? OH NO WHATEVER SHALL I DO.

(P.S. In case you’re curious, the lyrics are from Guy Lombardo’s “Enjoy Yourself,” which is a great listen if you’re hankering for something a little vintage-y sounding.)

2 Responses to “One of these days, I will learn to get some sleep on Sunday nights.”

  1. lindahalcombfineart November 16, 2010 at 6:21 am #

    Nicely done. Watercolor is a great medium to work with if you want to free your mind but you cannot try to control it too much or you will get frustrated. Have fun and let the paint flow!

    • Lena Chandhok November 18, 2010 at 9:21 am #

      Thanks very much! I’m definitely having fun with it, and it’s been a very fun way to loosen up. :)

Leave a Reply

