Happy Día de los Muertos!

1 Nov

I hope you all had a fun Halloween! I had a pretty good one, even though this was, sadly, the first year in a looooong time that I didn’t dress up. The Comic Boom! event was super awesome. The store itself is great–lots of selection, including a really fantastic 50-cent bin–and everyone was really friendly and fun to talk to. Corey, the owner, opened up part of the back room for us so that we could table during their normal business/Magic tournament time. Paul, Max, Canto, Bryan Stone, Denis St. John, Steve Bissette, and I were all there selling our work, and Ben came along for moral support. I finished the Día de los Muertos print I was talking about in the last post–it took me until 6:30 in the morning, but goldurnit, I finished it! I’ll post that (along with that visiting artist sketch I keep promising) on Wednesday.

On the subject of skeletons, though, I did some Día de los Muertos portraits of people on demand at the event as well. (Gee, can you tell I think it’s a really cool holiday?) They looked something like this:

Dia de los Muertos portrait

That’s skele-me in my dapper red hat, trying to convince people to spend a dollar on those portraits. I’m not sure if it came through in the scan, but the markings on the face were done in gold gel pen. Clearly, no expense was spared.

Steve and I drew each other as skeletons at the beginning of the event while things were slow, which was fun! You can see my portrait of him here, and his portrait of me just below:

Steve's Portrait

D’awww….lookit that face.

Welp, I’m about to pass out from lack of sleep and I’ve got to wake up at 5:30 in order to help teach a workshop tomorrow, so that’s it for me tonight. I’ll be back on Wednesday with lots more sketches and an exciting update on the calendar situation!

Leave a Reply

