Riddle me this, Vermont.

22 Oct

Why is it already snowing here? It is still October. Not. Cool.

Anyway, to keep warm, I have been drawing a lot. Here’s my visiting artist sketch from last week:

rockin' that plaid

Last week, Aaron Renier came to talk to us! He’s the creator of Spiral Bound: Top Secret Summer and The Unsinkable Walker Bean, both of which were pretty much fantastic. He’s my thesis advisor, so I may have a slightly biased opinion, but I also thought that both books were fantastic before he was confirmed as my advisor, so whatever. He gave a really great talk and showed us a lot of interesting early work in which he used the main Spiral Bound characters before they were, well, the Spiral Bound characters. We also got a sneak peek at the first few pages of Walker Bean vol. 2, which was super exciting! It was really cool to see his originals. He does a lot of doodling in the margins of his pages to get the excess ink off his brush, and it was fun to see those.

I also got to meet with Aaron before his talk so that we could discuss the work I’ve done for my thesis so far. I feel really good about having him as my advisor. I admire his work a hell of a lot, but on top of that he’s also able to give really excellent feedback–a nice balance of talking about what works well, what doesn’t, and how or why this is the case and how it can be improved. I feel really lucky to be paired with him this year. It’s on his advice that I tried doing all of yesterday’s art with a brush and ink (well, Aaron’s advice as well as being out of refills for my Pocket Brush). I think they turned out okay, but I’m still not very confident with a regular brush. I feel like I can control the amount of ink in the Pocket Brush better than a regular one, but maybe that’s just because I haven’t used a brush and ink very much at all. Besides, whenever I use ink, this is what happens:

ink everywhere

Ah well. I suppose if there’s any place where being covered in ink and paint is acceptable (and maybe even encouraged), it’s cartoon school. :P

Check back on Monday for another visiting artist sketch and additional doodles! Also, if Wednesday’s PIX recap wasn’t enough for you, try checking out the con reports at Cupcakes and Comics and Kevin Czapiewski’s blog.

4 Responses to “Riddle me this, Vermont.”

  1. Andrea October 22, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    Ahhhh your hair is so long, I love it! And I love your blog to death. <3

    • Lena Chandhok October 26, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

      Aww, thank you! The picture’s a little misleading re: hair length, since I straightened it, but it’s pretty accurate re: ink coverage. I miss you like crazy! I hope we get to hang out during winter break this year. :)

  2. Dakota October 25, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    Love the Aaron Renier drawing! I had no idea he was your advisor, but I love that too.

    • Lena Chandhok October 26, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

      Thanks! I am a fan of having Aaron as an advisor, too. :D

Leave a Reply

