Careful; the bird’s probably not housetrained.

6 Oct

Hoo boy. It’s been a busy couple of days! I still have lots of pages to work on, plus we’ve been working on updating our portfolios and writing cover letters and the like in our Professional Practices class, so I’ve had a lot on my plate. I haven’t been doing much sketching for that reason–all my drawings have been assignment-related–but here’s a drawing from my last sketchbook:

careful, the bird's probably not housetrained

Hmm, we seem to have interrupted her mid-musical number.

I went through a period last semester where all I wanted to draw was girls with really heavy-looking princess hair. This one was the most successful, I think. That’s probably in large part due to the colors (a good complementary pair goes a long way!), although I had fun with the white charcoal highlights, too. I’m also weirdly proud of her bird-holding hand, even though she has some strange stubby fingers on the other one. *shrugs*

Okay, back to work for me! I’m making okay progress on my pages, but, like I said before, I still have a lot left to do. There’ll be more miscellaneous art on Friday, and I should have a preview of what I’ve been working on (and what I hope to be selling at PIX) for you guys on Monday. See you then!

Leave a Reply

