Life drawings, and why I’ll be posting them. (Some NSFW content.)

29 Sep

I’ve always been really interested in the human form. I love telling stories about people, and I love drawing them, too. It’s my firm opinion that, no matter how you draw, an understanding of how the body works and is put together can only help you in drawing and posing your own characters.  For that reason, figure drawing has always been one of my favorite classes, both in undergrad and here at CCS. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m even TAing for the life drawing class this year, and sometimes I get to draw along with them.  I’m proud of these drawings and want to post them, but they do involve nudity.

I thought long and hard about whether I should post these drawings, especially since up until now I’ve done my best to keep this blog generally work-safe and appropriate for all ages. This didn’t really require a whole lot of effort on my part–I blurred some swearing out of one of the visiting artist drawings, but that was it. I like the idea of anyone and everyone being comfortable looking at my work. The post I’m making today may change that. Not everyone wants to see drawings of naked people when they check this site, which is totally fine. I’m not going to censor my drawings, because I feel like that’s implying that these studies are somehow in bad taste or done with less than honorable intent, but I will label each post that features them with “some NSFW (not safe for work) content” so that you guys can skip over these entries if you’re not interested. I just fundamentally think that the human form is interesting, fun, and informative to draw, and hopefully I can convince my readers of that, too. :) So, on that note, here are some life drawings from Monday’s class.

just chillin'

A five-minute sketch that I inked over later with brush pen. I especially like how her stomach turned out.

time for a nap, maybe

A ten-minute drawing. Her foreshortened arm was really hard to get right–I’m still not sure I got it.

turned over

Another ten-minute drawing. I’m glad I got to add a little shading to this one–I think it’s a nice touch. Unfortunately, her other foot wouldn’t fit on my sketchbook page. I’ll have to plan better next time.

Yeesh…sorry for the Block Paragraph o’ Doom here, guys! I may be taking this entirely too seriously, but this entry does kind of mark a shift in content and I feel that’s worth mentioning. *shrugs* Tune in on Friday for another visiting artist drawing and a higher art-to-text ratio. :)

2 Responses to “Life drawings, and why I’ll be posting them. (Some NSFW content.)”

  1. CJ Joughin September 29, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

    Woo! Well said there girl and ugh, I envy your mad life drawing skillz. I love how you work with color pen. It makes the drawings take on a whole new life.

    • Lena Chandhok September 29, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

      Aww, thank you! That’s sweet of you to say. You’ve got mad life drawing skillz yourself, yo!

Leave a Reply

