All my best friends are thesauruses.

22 Sep

As I started writing this blog post, I mentioned to the other people in the studio that I’ve got to start getting more sleep just so that I can start my blog entries with something other than, “Oh my god, I’m tired.” Immediately everyone around me chimed in:

CJ Joughin: How about, “Holy cow, I am tired.”

Beth Hetland: “Oh dear, I’m sleepy!”

Lawrence Derks: “My goodness, I really should get some sleep!”

Me: OKAY OKAY I GET IT

The point is, I definitely went to bed at 8 am today. Because I feel it’s thematically appropriate, here’s a sunrise-related drawing from my last sketchbook.

and shine a light, 'cause I need your sweet sunshine

I mentioned before that I’m kind of obsessed with the Faber-Castell brush pens. They have a foam tip, so they do eventually shred and lose their point, but they come in a lot of fantastic colors that are really fun to play with! In this drawing, I was experimenting with using multiple markers to shade a figure instead of using multiple layers of the same marker. I think it worked pretty well for a sketch, but I don’t think I’d ever use this method for anything professional. The Faber-Castells are a little too streaky for anything more than sketching in my opinion, and I like the simplicity of just having two shades of each color in a drawing.

I have some character sketches and business card designs coming up later this week, so check back on Friday for another update. See you then!

One Response to “All my best friends are thesauruses.”

  1. Yer Mom September 28, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    I like the effects of those markers and wouldn’t be too quick to throw them out for a final project. That abrupt, raw, textured effect could be really interesting to throw in to the middle of one of your scenes?

    Also, I was disappointed in Beth’s suggestion. I was hoping for a Bethbot-ism like maybe, “Time for a reboot. Beep. Boop.”

Leave a Reply

