What is that bright light in the sky? Oh, right, it’s the sun.

20 Sep

Ohhh my god you guys I am so tired. Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that I have been totally nocturnal for the past few days but then had to get up at 9 this morning to go TA for figure drawing? TRULY IT IS A MYSTERY.

Here’s a sample of what I’ve been working on during all those late nights, though. I did a short comic based on Aesop’s fable The Wind and the Sun last year, and I think my first mini this year will be a follow up to that. It’ll be based on another fable called How Sun, Moon, and Wind Went Out to Dinner. Here’s Moon:

Oh, man, lookit those nails.

I’m working on updating her design, so this is probably not at all what she’ll look like. I’ve chosen to make each deity in the fable a different nationality–in the original, Wind was Norse and Sun was Indian. I’m leaning towards a more Korean-influenced design for Moon as of right now, so her costume will probably change entirely. I still think this illustration is kinda neat, though.

Here’s Star:

She's not judging, just observing.

Star is the mother of Moon, Sun, and Wind, so I wanted her to look a little more matriarchal. I was going for a kind of Aboriginal feel to her, but since I don’t know if that’s entirely apparent I may tweak her design a little more before the final version. I’m pretty proud of the starfield behind her–I’ve made them digitally, but I’ve never painted them by hand before now. I think it came out pretty well.

Ooookay. I’ve gotta go finish coloring a pin-up tribute to Art Frahm, and then I think I’m gonna pass out face down on the media room couch and see if I can get someone to drag me home to my apartment. See y’all on Wednesday!

One Response to “What is that bright light in the sky? Oh, right, it’s the sun.”

  1. Yer Mom September 21, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    And nothing says maternal like a muffin top! xoxo

Leave a Reply

