Hooray for thick eyebrows!

13 Sep

Busy day today! It was my first day as TA for the first-year figure drawing class, which is hectic but super fun. It’s awesome to get a chance to see the new class work and get to know them a little better. They’re all talented, and they’ve been very tolerant of my tendency to talk their ears off about chamois cloths, brush pens, and the anterior superior iliac spines. I AM A HUGE ANATOMY NERD YOU GUYS. WHO KNEW. I didn’t have a lot of time to draw today, but hopefully I’ll be able to get a little sketching in during next week’s class.

And hey, speaking of sketches, I have some actual content for you guys! I started doodling during a lecture in our thesis seminar class today and came up with this girl:

check out those sweet threads

I have no idea what her name is or what in the world she’s wearing; I just thought that this image James Sturm showed us of old baseball uniforms looked cool and ran with the memory of that. I think she’s a keeper, though, especially since she looks so different from the rest of my female characters. She’ll probably show up in a comic before too long. Here she is again:

what the heck is that, anyway?

I am so disproportionally proud of that hand, you guys. :D Also, I am all about drawing wrinkled noses lately. Go figure.

That’s about all I’ve got for today. Now it’s back to designing business cards and listening to the Paprika soundtrack on repeat. See you Wednesday!

One Response to “Hooray for thick eyebrows!”

  1. Canto September 13, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    Hooray for the ChandBlog!
    The expression on thick-eyebrows-lady in the second drawing is amazing. I hope to see more of this hirsute beauty in future.

Leave a Reply

