Purrin’ on the Ritz!

22 Oct

Last week (or the week before) I asked you guys what kind of art you’d like to see on the blog. The response was clear: I need to draw more cats. Fancy cats, even. Perhaps located in a specific borough of New York City. (You have very discerning taste, dear readers.)

So, without further ado: dancing cats, decked out in formal wear, in Brooklyn.

Insert your own "Wall Street Fat Cats" joke here.

Street sign aside, you can tell they’re in Brooklyn because they’re doing all this ironically.

This was a bit of a challenge–how exactly do cats dance, anyway? I’ve never seen the movie, so I found myself at a loss. Nevertheless, I had fun drawing the little cummerbund and furry high-fives. I’m also pleased with the color scheme. I haven’t done anything monochromatic in a while, and it turned out to be a fun and easy way to color this drawing. Things fell into place fairly neatly, which was a nice surprise; sometimes I end up having to really fuss with a drawing in order to make sure I don’t have too many overlapping segments of the same color, but the colors in this came together pretty intuitively.

I had a lot of fun working on this, so let’s keep it going! Please feel free to leave a comment telling me something you’d like to see a drawing of. :)

4 Responses to “Purrin’ on the Ritz!”

  1. Keil Hal October 23, 2012 at 12:03 am #

    How do cats dance? Do I need to send you a video of Skittles dancing?

    • Lena Chandhok October 23, 2012 at 12:06 am #

      Yes. Immediately.

      • Keil Hal October 23, 2012 at 12:17 am #

        I’ll get on it. Need to recruit help.

  2. lchapmandesigns October 23, 2012 at 8:20 am #

    YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So posh!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 589 other followers

